Five Questions For: Maggie Hendrickson

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maggie Hendrickson was born and raised in Wahpeton, North Dakota. She earned a B.S. in Speech Language Hearing Science from Minnesota State University Moorhead.  This past year, Maggie served as an AmeriCorps VISTA in McAllen, TX, near the border of Mexico.  She served as a Health and Wellness Coordinator for IDEA Public Schools, working with a primarily Hispanic population. Maggie is currently serving her second year of AmeriCorps as the College Health Corps VISTA Leader through MN Campus Compact.  She is very excited to be a part of such a great organization while fulfilling her passion for health. Outside of the working environment Maggie enjoys tennis, golf, Twins baseball, traveling, and the outdoors.

1)    What about your college experience influenced where you are today?  

The hands-on experiences in college allowed me to learn my likes and dislikes.  I learned that I thrive on building relationships with people, especially underserved populations.  I volunteered with a variety of programs throughout college that primed me for my VISTA service today.

2)    What is the most exciting thing that you do in your job?

Working with fellow VISTAs, great MNCC staff, and being a part of the health world everyday are all exciting aspects of my job! I specifically enjoy collaborating with others on initiatives, researching articles and news, and drinking coffee with Lucy.

3)    What book should everybody read, and why?

The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren.  I find myself reading this book any time I have a crossroads in life when I’m not sure which direction to take.  So far it has done wonders on helping me make life-changing decisions.

4)    Who or what is inspiring your work these days?

The correlation between health literacy and chronic disease prevention – specifically the sociological/environmental aspects related to obesity.

5)    What are you passionate about?
I’m passionate about helping others strive to live life to the fullest through health and wellness initiatives.

Leave a Reply

